PTBC banner       ProudToBeCanadian

It's a question.


The latest from our COLUMNIST SECTION:


Click here to see more of our columns or use the drop-down menu atop this stack)




PTBC PUSH-BACK

Free-Market Capitalist Consumer Information:
These companies choose to advertise on the
socialism-reliant CBC:
(Links lead to mailing addresses)
AIG (insur)
Air Canada
• AOL Travel
• Bank of Montreal ("BMO")
• Best Western
• Canada Protection Plan
• Canada Revenue Agency (!)
• Canadian Tire Fin Serv
• Chip Home Income Plan
• CIBC
• Cold FX
• Desjardins (insurance)
• Directbuy, Inc
• Edward Jones
• General Motors
• Grand and Toy
• Grey Power (insurance)
• H&R Block
• Hilton Hotels
• iContact email marketing
• Infinity (cars)
• Koodoo mobile
• Lens Crafters
• Monster.ca
National Post
• Neutrogena
• Nutrisystem
• Quicktax
• RBC (Royal bank)
• Rogers Cable
• ScotiaBank
• Shaw Cable
• Texas Travel
• The Co-operators (ins)
• Tim Hortons
• Travelodge
Vonage
WeightWatchers
Westjet
Working.com
Zip.ca

Please read more here.



PTBC J-Log

A conservative OPINION blog --with bite. OPINION by Joel Johannesen.

Wednesday, June 22, 2005

State-run CBC employee steals website domain name from Conservative to mock him

Written by Joel Johannesen on Wednesday June 22 2005 at 03:34 PM

An employee of the state-run CBC division of the Liberal Party has played a prank, yet again, on another Conservative Party MP.  (Hat tip:  Exile from our forums).

This time he’s doing what the Liberals indignantly decried as unethical and repugnant:  he registered the expired domain name of a sitting MP, just as the leader of an interest group did to a Liberal Party MP earlier this spring.  I denounced the move in this blog when it happened.

The DefendMarriage.ca group wasn’t an employee of the state—as Rick Mercer is the state’s official comedian—however. 

State comedian Rick Mercer is not funny, he’s just another liberal.  And I’ld love to check the receipts he turns in to the CBC for expenses.  Note that when you check with WhoIs.net, the registration isn’t in Rick Mercer’s name, but rather that of one of the internet’s “hidden owner” companies.

Registrant Name:Internet accountant
Registrant Organization:
Registrant Street1:ATTN insert domainname here
Registrant Street2:care of Network Solutions
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Herndon
Registrant State/Province:VA
Registrant Postal Code:20172

Comedian grabs Tory MP’s cyber domain

The comedian who once got thousands of names on a petition to have Stockwell Day change his name to Doris Day has set his sights on another Conservative politician.

The Doris Day petition made fun of the former Reform Party leader’s promise to make important policy choices after holding referendums. This time, Rick Mercer is skewering MP Jason Kenney on his namesake web site. Mercer this week announced he has purchased http://www.jasonkenney.org and is rerouting traffic to the Communist Party web site.

“I wanted something that screamed Jason,” Mercer says.

Posted by Joel Johannesen on   Wed, June 22, 2005 at 3:34:18 PM
(1) Trackbacks • • If you think this site is of no value, then don't pay anything for it, and it will fade into the sunset. That's capitalism at work.
Email this article to a Friend Spread the word! Email this to a friend | • Printer-Friendly | • Permalink
• Category: Unsorted +
ASK Favicon Blogosphere News Favicon del.icio.us Favicon Digg Favicon Facebook Favicon Fark Favicon Google Favicon LinkedIn Favicon Live Favicon Netscape Favicon NewsVine Favicon Reddit Favicon Slashdot Favicon StumbleUpon Favicon Technorati Favicon TwitThis Favicon Upnews Favicon Wikio Favicon YahooMyWeb Favicon


COMMENTS

Comments do not necessarily reflect or in any way represent the opinion of the main blog entry writer or owner of this site, and claims to the contrary are spurious. Distasteful, abusive, hateful, or annoying remarks will likely be deleted; but since this is a relatively open forum, bad comments may accidentally remain on this site. The fact that a comment remains does not indicate an endorsement of the views.
  1. slider115 says:

    I have obtained a ricks blog at Rick Mercer’s blog site.  Anybody have any suggestions on what to do with it?  It’s at http://www.rickmercer.modblog.com.

    BTW…If someone wanted to go the domain name route, rick has left himself unprotected with the following domains:

    rickmercer.name (kinda funny)
    rickmercer.us (maybe a yank would like revenge for the ‘talking to americans’ bit.

    Posted by slider115  from   on  Wed, June 22, 2005 at 9:51:31 PM

  2. NotALiberalGirlyMan says:

    If Rick Mercer really had any talent, he would not be working for the Government.  Mercer makes Bill Maher look intelligent.

    Posted by NotALiberalGirlyMan  from   on  Thu, June 23, 2005 at 5:11:27 AM

  3. hedplug's avatar hedplug says:

    I’m not sure but isn’t there a copyright law somewhere that says if you domain park or hi-jack someone’s domain name you could be libel for trademark infringement or something like that? I understood that unless you could prove you had some legitimate and provable reason for registering a domain name similar to someone else’s it was verboten?
    The folks who registered Macdonalds.com had their butts sued off when they did it (if I recall correctly). Why is it okay for pRick Mercer-nary to steal Kenney’s name for a website?

    Posted by hedplug  from  Gawd's Country  on  Thu, June 23, 2005 at 10:35:27 AM
    — hedplug's   s i g n a t u r e:

    Get out of your head and stand up for yourself! ME


  4. Page 1 of 1 comment pages
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.